Review – The Girl on the Train

review1

22557272.jpg

Title: The Girl on the Train

Author: Paula Hawkins

Originally Published: January 13th 2015

Format: Audiobook

Rating: ★★★☆ (4/5 stars)

Synopsis: EVERY DAY THE SAME
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

UNTIL TODAY
And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

I so wasn’t planning on reading this. For some reason I thought it was something entirely different but then I saw the movie trailer, thought it looked good, and decided to see if my library had the audiobook. They did and I ended up listening to the first 8 hours in one sitting. I didn’t want to stop but it was 3am! So I finished it as soon as I woke up. And I am 100% glad I read this. It was truly an experience.

The Girl on the Train is told by three different women:

  • Rachel “the girl on the train” is an unreliable narrator. I usually hate that so so much but I loved her. She was a real character honestly. Every sentence she spoke seemed to be a lie and it was so funny everytime she wondered why the police didn’t think she was a reliable source or when she questioned why someone else would lie. Emily Blunt was the perfect casting choice for Rachel.
  • Megan “the girl on the terrace” was interesting. I didn’t like her at first. She was pretty cold and emotionally detached but the more I learned about her, the more I understood and came to like her. Also I listened to the entire story thinking Jennifer Lawrence was going to play her in the movie but then I went back to look at the cast and apparently I was wrong. Oops.
  • Anna “the girl down the road” was unlikable for the majority of the story. She’s Rachel’s ex husband’s new wife and most of her plot was revolved around bashing Rachel 24/7. But then the end… When she started to figure stuff out I loved her. So much. Rebecca Ferguson was great in The White Queen and I think she’ll do great in this.

This was a murder mystery and I kept thinking I knew who was the killer but nope. It was the person I didn’t suspect until near the very end and I love that in these types of stories. It takes the fun out of everything if you know how it’s going to turn out.

Really the biggest problem I had with this was remembering who everyone was at first. I had to make notes for each character to know who people were talking about.

The Girl on the Train has been one of those really hyped up books and I can understand why some people might not enjoy it. But for me it was pretty addictive and if anyone has similar murder mystery recommendations I would be so grateful!

Leave a Reply

