Review – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

review1

2

Title: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Author: JK Rowling

Originally Published: June 21st 2003

Format: Audiobook

Rating: ★★★☆ (4/5 stars)

Synopsis: Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected…

Suspense, secrets and thrilling action from the pen of J.K. Rowling ensure an electrifying adventure that is impossible to put down.

I’m very glad I went with the audiobook for this one. Like I said before, I’m not a huge fan of audiobooks because I get easily distracted but I loved listening to Jim Dale read this. He was the perfect choice to narrate this series.

I definitely preferred this book to the movie. Order of the Phoenix is probably my least favorite of all the movies but the book had more depth and things seemed to make more sense. I do hate that they left so much out of the movie though! Like: Hermione blackmailing Rita Skeeter into writing an article telling Harry’s side of the story; the entire quidditch season, like???? It wasn’t even in the movie at all; and Dobby of course.

My favorite scenes, however, were the ones with McGonagall. I could perfect imagine Maggie Smith saying all of these lines. The McGonagall vs. Umbridge matches were amazing too!

Before reading this I’d seen a lot of people complaining about Harry in this book and I just don’t get it? He’s been through this huge trauma. Voldemort is forcing him to become an adult and nearly every adult that he trusts is determined to treat him like a child still. Plus he’s a hormone-filled 15 year old boy. I can understand why he’d be a little upset honestly.

I think I’m going to wait a while before reading the next book in the series. I’m already so far behind mostly everyone else in reading these books that a few months won’t hurt!

Which is your favorite HP book? Do you think they did a good job adapting this to the big screen?

Tumblr || Goodreads || Instagram

One thought on “Review – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Leave a Reply

