Review – Frostfire by Amanda Hocking


Title: Frostfire

Author: Amanda Hocking

Originally Published: January 6th 2015

Format: Paperback

Pages: 321

Rating: ★★★☆ (4/5 stars)

Synopsis: Bryn Aven is an outcast among the Kanin, the most powerful of the troll tribes.

Set apart by her heritage and her past, Bryn is a tracker who’s determined to become a respected part of her world. She has just one goal: become a member of the elite King’s Guard to protect the royal family. She’s not going to let anything stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss Ridley Dresden.

But all her plans for the future are put on hold when Konstantin– a fallen hero she once loved – begins kidnapping changelings. Bryn is sent in to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process?

This book was so much better than the Trylle trilogy. The pacing was well balanced and I love the characters so much.

Bryn reminds me a lot of Rose from the Vampire Academy series. They both feel a sense of duty for their people. They’re girls in fields that are primarily dominated by men. I knew I was going to like Bryn from page one. She does have faults and she does make mistakes but she learns from them and they help her grow. I can’t wait to read more about her.

And oh gosh… the romance between Bryn and Ridley??? I love it! They’re not necessarily forbidden from being with each other but it just wouldn’t be accepted. He’s her boss though he’s just a few years older than her. They both know this but the attraction is undeniable.

But then there’s Konstantin. I’m not sure what to think of him. He’s clearly working with the bad guys but the reasons aren’t obvious. I’m sure there’s going to be some redemption arc for him and while I love that I don’t know if I’ll like what it’ll mean for Bryn. There’s signs that this could turn into a love triangle and I really don’t want that to happen.

Frostfire had been sitting on my shelf I believe since it had first came out in early 2015 so I’m glad I finally read it but also relieved that I waited until the rest of the series was released. I’m probably going to fly through the next book 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s