Review – Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking

REVIEW

Title: Switched | Torn | Ascend

Author: Amanda Hocking

Published: January 3, 2012 | February 28, 2012 | April 24, 2012

Format: Paperback

Pages: 290 | 291 | 295

Rating: ★★☆☆ | ★★☆☆ | ★★★☆

Synopsis: She must dare to be different to unlock the key to her past.

When Wendy Everly was six, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. 11 years later, when do you discovers her mother was almost right. She’s not the person she’s always believed to self to be, and her whole life begins to unravel – all because of Finn Holmes. Finn is a darkly handsome newcomer and every encounter with him leave so deeply shaken… Though it has more to do with her fierce attraction to him than she ever admit.

He’s also here to tell her the shocking truth: Wendy is a changing who is switched birth- and he’s come to take her home. Now Wendy is about to journey to a magical world she never knew existed, one that is both beautiful and frightening. And she must leave her old life behind to discover who she is meant to become …

So I re-read this before starting on the spin-off series and honestly it just wasn’t as good as I remembered. I think my taste in books has just changed? Like the books were good and I can definitely see why I enjoyed it years ago but it’s just not my thing anymore.

Let’s go with the cons first:

  • The romance… er, make that romances. Not only was there a love triangle but it was also that “insta-love” thing that could be done well. Except when the MC says she’s fallen in love with some guy after only four conversations (that were honestly just arguments!) it gets messy. I really didn’t care who Wendy ended up with until the last half of the last book. Plus when Wendy is just 17 and the love interests are around 25 it’s kinda gross.
  • The pacing. Nothing really happens throughout the first book. It’s a lot of Wendy asking questions and nobody wants to give her answers so the conversations seem to be repetitive. Things do pick up a bit in the second book but the real action really doesn’t begin until Ascend. This series could have probably been edited down to one book, two at most.
  • The main character. She’s whiny. She’s a brat really. No matter how much people care about her and are willing to help her she just plays the victim card over and over again. She barely takes a second to see how good she has it compared to all of her friends who will drop anything to help her out.

That’s just some stuff I didn’t like but here’s what I did like:

  • This series is original. I’ve never read a story about changelings before and I’ve only ever heard about faerie changelings. But these characters are trolls – another creature I’ve never read about. It’s a world that I’m excited to read more about in the Kanin Chronicles series.
  • They’re fast reads. I know not much action happens for the first half of the series but I was able to fly through all 3 books in 2 days. I’m usually a slow reader but getting through 3 ~300 page books in such a short span of time is a huge bonus for me.
  • The epilogue + bonus story at the end. Hocking tied things up so wonderfully and was able to let the reader know that the character got their happy endings.

I wish I had written reviews for these when I first read them so I could go back and compare but I do know that I originally rated all three of these at 5 stars and now they’re down to 3 stars for the first two and 4 stars for the last book. It’s definitely interesting going back and reading something you remember loving after a few years and seeing how your interests have changed.

Have you read this series or anything else by Amanda Hocking? Leave a comment letting me know 🙂

One thought on “Review – Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking

Leave a Reply

