Review – Summer Days & Summer Nights

REVIEW

summer days

Title: Summer Days and Summer Nights

Edited by: Stephanie Perkins

Authors: Leigh Bardugo, Frencesca Lia Block, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, Brandy Colbert, Tim Federle, Lev Grossman, Nina LaCour, Stephanie Perkins, Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, Jennifer E. Smith

Originally Published: May 17th 2016

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 384

Rating: ★★☆☆ (3/5 stars)

Synopsis: Maybe it’s the long, lazy days, or maybe it’s the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love.

This was not nearly as good as the winter themed anthology by Stephanie Perkins – My True Love Gave To Me. I don’t know if it’s because of the different authors that were selected or just that I probably prefer stories about Christmas rather than those that go on and on about the sweltering heat. Also could be that I’m not that into anthologies but who knows.

I actually kept track of each story through my Goodreads updates so I’m just going to copy and paste those here and then add on anything I might also want to add.


  • 3.5 stars to Head, Scales, Tongue, Tail by Leigh Bardugo
    • This one was good… a bit confusing as first to figure out who was who but I loved the plot

  • 4 stars to The End of Love by Nina LaCour. Bonus points for being LGBT+ friendly
    • This was a great LGBT+ story that would’ve been great as a full-length novel. Like maybe I’d prefer a prequel to this?

  • 2 stars to Last Stand At The Cinegore by Libba Bray. Basically it was the epitome of a straight white boy.
    • Like I said….. this was very Heterosexual (TM). Like in your face. All the MC thinks about is having sex with this girl who is, of course, Not Like The Other Girls At All. Then the author tries to make up for it by giving him a gay best friend who was so terribly written.

  • 1 star to Sick Pleasure by Francesca Lia Block. I felt so disconnected from the characters and honestly.. the writing and story were just really bad.
    • I don’t even know… this story had no point to it? I can’t really say anything beyond that without spoilers but if you’re going to read this anthology and plan on skipping some of the stories… this is the one to skip.

  • 4 stars to In Ninety Minutes, Turn North by Stephanie Perkins
    • Probably helps that I was already familiar with these characters from Perkins’ other anthology. I didn’t like how it started but I did love how it ended.

  • 4 stars to Souvenirs by Tim Federle. I love stories about really great people breaking up with insensitive jerks and realizing they deserve better and that’s exactly what this story gave me.
    • Another LGBT+ friendly story! I loved the MC and wish I could read more about him after the events of this story.

  • 3 stars to Inertia by Veronica Roth. It was a little hard to get into but got better as it progressed though it did feel a bit much for a short story.
    • Reminded me of that movie “Never Let Me Go”. You know, with Carey Mulligan and Andrew Garfield. I haven’t seen that movie in a while and really don’t remember much but this story gave me that vibe.

  • 3.5 stars to Love Is The Last Resort by Jon Skovron. It was good but the way it was written makes me feel like it would be better as a movie.
    • It took me way too long to remember what this one was about… Anyways it kind of makes me think of Clue (but without the murder) and The Suite Life of Zach and Cody. Weird combination but okay. Plus like I said it feels like it would have been better as a movie or something… the whole thing was narrated from some unknown character and I kept thinking that if it were a movie, Morgan Freeman would be that narrator.

  • 3 stars to Goodluck and Farewell by Brandy Colbert. This one just kinda fell flat to me? Like it was good but there was just nothing that made me really want to keep reading.
    • I honestly can’t think of anything significant about this story other than the fact that it had pretty much the only POC characters out of the whole anthology.

  • 2.5 stars to Brand New Attraction by Cassandra Clare. Nice premise but I don’t like her writing.
    • Maybe it could just be that I don’t like Cassandra Clare??? Going into this story I thought maybe I’d like it but then it just got weirder and made me think of how I felt when reading City of Bones – she just tries to put so much into one story that it feels overdone.

  • 5 stars to A Thousand Ways This Could All Go Wrong by Jennifer E. Smith. This has been by far my favorite from this anthology. It perfectly captures the feel of summer. Jennifer E. Smith writes characters with so much depth and that’s what made this amazing.
    • !!!!!!!!!!!! As I said, Smith gives her characters depth. But she does it in such simple ways like dropping small bits of information about them and it’s like… wow I feel like I’ve known this person my entire life.

  • 4 stars to The Map Of Tiny Perfect Things by Lev Grossman. This was my favorite out of the non-contemporary stories. Anything with messed up timelines usually interests me so I’m not surprised that I liked this one.
    • Basically it’s Groundhog Day with only two people who know that time is repeating itself. I loved this story and the characters. As with most time-related stories, there were some plotholes and I still have some questions. But really this is the only story from the whole anthology that felt right as a short story.

Have you read this collection of short stories? Did any of them stick out to you? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

