Musing Mondays – 3/21/2016

Musing1

Musing Mondays is hosted Books And A Beat, where a certain question is asked every week. This week’s question: Have you ever read a book after watching the movie/television version only to find that you don’t like the book as much as the adaptation?

My answer: It’s not often that I watch the adaptation before reading the book but here are some examples:

  • City of Bones – I can’t remember if I watched the movie first or if I read the book first? But I know that I like the movie and the tv show much better than I liked the book. I even read the book twice just to see if maybe I was in a reading slump the first time around but nope. It’s just not for me.
  • Game of Thrones – The book is good yeah. But possibly just a bit too much high fantasy for me to read.
  • The Last Song – After this I realized that Nicholas Sparks books just are not my thing. The movies? Absolutely amazing. The books? Nahh..
  • The Walking Dead – I tried getting through the first graphic novel and just couldn’t. It seemed too different to the show and I very much love the show so it was too weird seeing my favorite characters in such a different way.

 

One thought on “Musing Mondays – 3/21/2016

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I’ve only read one Sparks book – The Wedding – and I spent most of it thinking, “This would make a good movie… but the book… not so much!” There was just too much thinking thinking thinking. And in the movies you can skip all that! 🙂

    The only time this has happened to me was with The Silver Linings Playbook. I saw the film twice before reading the book. The book is good, but the film is a lot better. They change quite a few things and the end result is a more engaging story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

