Review – We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

REVIEW

we were liars

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Originally Published: May 13, 2014

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 225

Rating: ★★☆ (2/5 stars)

Synopsis: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

This book was just so boring and not at all as good as I was expecting. And so anticlimactic. I kept hearing about how amazing the ending was supposed to be, but when I got there all I could think was “Okay… am I supposed to be shocked because I’m not”.

The writing was, for the most part, beautiful. That’s what bumped it up to 2 stars instead of 1. (I originally rated it 3 stars actually then I realized I shouldn’t lie when I really just did not like the book).

What bothered me though
was how random
sentences
would be formatted
like this.

Like yes that could work for stories and it did work for some of the sentences in this book but overall it just seemed too pretentious and like it was trying to just add on to the page count.

Then there were the characters. None of which I cared about. Except maybe Gat – you know, the one non-white/non-rich character. Even he was just incredibly one dimensional.

Basically don’t bother with this book especially if you’re looking for something with a killer plot twist. The biggest shock this story gave me was learning the old white dude was a democrat.

Leave a Reply

