Review – Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

4-out-of-5-stars1

4 stars

23437156Title: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Originally Published: September 29, 2015

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 465

Synopsis: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

I really actually loved this more than I thought I would! I liked it more than I liked Shadow and Bone.

I’m not usually that into fantasy. That probably is why I delayed reading this even with all the hype surrounding it. But it didn’t really seem like a very heavy fantasy story to me. It was more of a heist story that just happened to be pulled off with the help of magic.

It did take me a while to actually get into the book at first. Six of Crows is divided into six parts (ironic now that I think about it). I wasn’t really into the story until part two but I am so glad I kept reading.

This reminds me a little bit of The Raven Cycle – the writing was beautiful and the storyline took a while to get into, but it was the characters that I am very much attached to. Each character in Six of Crows is so amazing. I love them all in different ways. I really think the way they cared for each other is what made me love this book.

And there is some great diversity here! A few characters of color, queer characters, characters with disabilities, the girls were just as bad-a** as the guys. I feel like I’ve adopted six children!

If you’re hesitant to read a fantasy book, try this one. You don’t need to have read Shadow and Bone to understand this world so no need to worry about reading an entire new series to get into this one.

Leave a Reply

