Review – I Was Here by Gayle Forman

5stars

5 stars

25489413Title: I Was Here

Author: Gayle Forman

Originally Published: January 27, 2015

Format: Paperback

Pages: 270

Synopsis: This characteristically powerful novel follows eighteen-year-old Cody Reynolds in the months following her best friend’s shocking suicide.

As Cody numbly searches for answers as to why Meg took her own life, she begins a journey of self-discovery which takes her to a terrifying precipice, and forces her to question not only her relationship with the Meg she thought she knew, but her own understanding of life, love, death and forgiveness.

A phenomenally moving story, I Was Here explores the sadly all-too-familiar issue of suicide and self-harm, addressing it in an authentic way with sensitivity and honesty.

As with all of Forman’s books, this one was beautifully written. I’ve always thought her sequels were the best but this standalone is probably the best she’s written so far.

The characters were just so well-developed. Very realistic. I could imagine them as people I could actually meet.

And this book was brutally honest and personal. Maybe it hit too close to home. But it was so important. I needed this book. I needed it years ago when I was at my lowest point. And yet it helps just as much reading it years later.

There’s a quote from the New York Times on the back of the book that says “An irresistible tear-jerker… Life affirming”. I knew I’d probably cry. But life affirming? I thought “ok… sure”. But it was.

Leave a Reply

